2015 Hall of Fame

The City of Tallahassee Natural Gas Utility is a proud sponsor of the TBA Hall of Fame. Each year, the TBA adds one member to a list of elite individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to the local building industry. Selected by the past recipients… which means they have won the admiration and respect of their peers, and are richly deserving on this honor, the 2015 winner was H.R. ‘Sonny’ Phillips. Having been on the TBA scene for many years… not necessarily with a lot of fanfare but with the quiet, steady, consistent contributions over a long period of time, Sonny built his reputation as one of the area’s most-respected builders and remodelers in the industry and community… and this is well-documented by awards for home building and remodeling excellence. But even with as much experience as he has, Sonny attends continues to attend our educational programs… learning new things and equipping his business with ways to better serve his clients. Sonny is “the perfect person for the job.” In that sense, when the call came in he was just the person the TBA needed this year to bring success to one of our signature projects. With his professionalism and patience, he worked with a large group of volunteers both inside and outside of TBA to re-unite three elderly sisters in their own new home.

Anyone who watched that happen knows first-hand that that project wasn’t about making repairs… it was about making a difference in people’s lives. For his longtime dedication to TBA, for his legacy of performance, and for his heart for community service, our 2015 Hall of Fame inductee is:

2015 Hall of Fame Inductee

H.R. “Sonny” Phillips, CIP, CAPS

H.R. Phillips Inc.

2014 Jerry McFarland

2013 Larry Wayne Strickland

2012 Mark Worley

2011 Drexal Harris

2010 Ronnie Spooner

2009 Lynn Wollschlager

2008 Pepper Ghazvini*

2007 Dave Samsel

2006 Bob Carnes

2005 Kip Carpenter

2004 Karen Koelemij

2002 Lee Everhart

2001 Frank Willis

2000 Neil Butler*

1999 Stan Derzypolski

1998 Jim Maples

1997 Brian Will

1996 Bob Watts

1995 Edward Dion

1994 Earl Cushing

1993 Mat Ryan

1992 Rob Wilson

1991 Paul M. Thompson

1990 Larry Harris

1989 John J. Koelemij*

1988 Pat Gridley

1987 Johnny Jordan