watson_71352019 Builder of the Year

The Tallahassee Builders Association takes great pride in choosing their recipients of the annual Builder of the Year Award. When we look back at the builders who have won this award over the years, we quickly see that they are professionals who have made a profound difference not just in our industry, but also in our community. As a Builder of the Year we look for those that stand for professionalism and honest, fair, dealings with their suppliers and their customers. This year’s Builder of the Year clearly fits that mold. A successful new home builder and remodeler in our area, Robert Watson, owner of the The Great American Construction Co., has provided superb leadership on the Board of Directors of TBA as 2019 Secretary while also sitting as the Chair of the Governmental Affairs Committee.  Under his leadership in 2019, GA grew in numbers and strengthened the relationship between City Commissioners and the TBA.

Past Builder of the Year Winners:

2018 Mark Kessler
2017 Brian Neely
2016 Mark Trudeau
2015 H.R. ‘Sonny’ Phillips
2014 Doug Barton and Masoud Karimipour (co-winners)
2013 Bill Kimberl
2012 Alan Weekley
2011 Larry Wayne Strickland
2010 Mark Trudeau
2009 Jerry McFarland
2008 Stan Derzypolski
2007 Jim Bennett
2006 Robby Hartsfield
2005 Karen Koelemij
2004 Rigsby Jones
2003 Hugh Waller
2002 Billy Owens
2001 Robert Parrish
2000 Mark Worley
1999 Kip Carpenter
1998 Tom Vieth
1997 H.R. ‘Sonny’ Phillips
1996 Pat Gridley
1995 Olin Granthum
1994 Bobby Dann
1993 Douglas Turner
1992 Gary Gooch*
1991 H.D. Danny Long
1990 Brian Will
1989 David Williams
1988 Edward Dion
1987 Bob Watts
1986 Don Wise
1985 Edward Dion
1984 Raney Oven
1983 Betty Harley*
1982 John Koelemij*
1981 Kenneth Scarborough
1980 Jim Brockett