TBA Hall of Fame Inductees

The City of Tallahassee Natural Gas Utility is a proud sponsor of the TBA Hall of Fame. Each year, the TBA adds one member to a list of elite individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to the local building industry. Selected by the past recipients… which means they have won the admiration and respect of their peers, and are richly deserving on this honor, the 2017 winner was Mike Roberts of Roberts Sand Company. Having been on the TBA scene for many years… not necessarily with a lot of fanfare but with the quiet, steady, consistent contributions over a long period of time, Mike built his reputation as one of the area’s most-respected associate members in the industry and community… and this is well documented by the number of industry boards that Mike participates on. But even with as much experience as he has, Mike combines his experience as a business owner with his peers knowledge and brings back to the association that strength to assure that our path is well defined.

Anyone who  has been a part of Mike’s time as one of our leaders, knows first-hand that he takes his roles on our board and other industry boards seriously because he believes that participation is about making a difference in people’s lives. For his longtime dedication to TBA, for his legacy of performance, and for his heart for our industry, our 2017 Hall of Fame inductee is:


Mike Roberts

Roberts Sand Company

2016 Garth Easton

2015 H.R. “Sonny” Phillips, CIP, CAPS

2014 Jerry McFarland

2013 Larry Wayne Strickland

2012 Mark Worley

2011 Drexal Harris

2010 Ronnie Spooner

2009 Lynn Wollschlager

2008 Pepper Ghazvini*

2007 Dave Samsel

2006 Bob Carnes

2005 Kip Carpenter

2004 Karen Koelemij

2002 Lee Everhart

2001 Frank Willis

2000 Neil Butler*

1999 Stan Derzypolski

1998 Jim Maples

1997 Brian Will

1996 Bob Watts

1995 Edward Dion

1994 Earl Cushing

1993 Mat Ryan

1992 Rob Wilson

1991 Paul M. Thompson

1990 Larry Harris

1989 John J. Koelemij*

1988 Pat Gridley

1987 Johnny Jordan